Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: 3 against 4 polyrhythms  (Read 2623 times)

Offline romanticperiod

• PS Silver Member
3 against 4 polyrhythms
on: May 25, 2021, 07:53:30 AM
Hi, I am an amateur who has recently started. Does anyone have some good practice material for 3 against 4 polyrhythms like there are in the Fantasie impromptu?
Thanks a lot!

Offline quantum

• PS Silver Member
Re: 3 against 4 polyrhythms
Reply #1 on: May 25, 2021, 08:22:06 AM
Get to know the following rhythm, write it out on paper:

Dotted eighth, sixteenth, eighth, eighth, sixteenth, dotted eighth.

Tap/clap with your hands.

Now practice the following tapping pattern with both hands (where T means tap both hands at the same time, R = right hand, L = left hand)

T R L R L R

also the inverse

T L R L R L

Now put the two together, tap the pattern using the rhythm. 

Next to add verbal counting. 

Count 1,2,3,4 - while tapping the hand pattern in rhythm, it will align with one of your hands.

Count 1,2,3 - while tapping the hand pattern in rhythm, it will align with the other hand.

Go through all variations of the above, flipping between R/L hand patterns and counting patterns.  Be able to flip to another variant without stopping and restarting. 

Want more?
Do all of the above while walking.  It will give you a 2-3-4 polyrhythm.  Of course, you need to do the variants as well without stopping.